The Catholic Community of Washington County, Kansas

St. John the Baptist Church
Box 395
114 South Church
Hanover, Kansas 66945

Mass Times

Wednesday & Friday - 8:20 am
Saturday Evening - 6:00 pm
Sunday Morning - 10:00 am
Confessions: Saturday 3:00 pm or by appointment

Parish Council Members
Meet 2nd Monday @ 7:00 pm

Finance Council Members
Meet 1st Tuesday @ 7:00 pm

Knights of Columbus Grand Knight - Jarod Schlabach

Altar Society President - Denise Bruna

1868 Church starts with mass offered in homes
1870 People are cared for by the Jesuits who gave a tentative name to the church as "Church of the Seven Sorrows of the Holy Virgin"
1871 Mission of Seneca
1872 First Church built
1874 First resident pastor
1876 Church renovated
1876 Catholic School begins. The first rectory now becomes a school.
1879 School now in the old public school building
1880 Lanham Church is built as a mission of Hanover
1800 Present church is dedicated as "St. John the Baptist Church" (In Memory of the Building Priest - Fr. John Pichler)
1882 School building is erected
1883 Wings are added to the church
1883 First Sisters arrive to teach in the school
1888 New rectory is built
1888 Sisters now live in the old school/rectory building - now a convent
1892 Covers the mission church at Greenleaf
1921 Lanham Church is dismantled and closed
1938 New rectory is built
1961 Present convent is erected
1967 Gym addition to the school is built
1976 100th anniversary of the school celebrated
2002 Became part of the Catholic Community of Washington County
2002 Fr. Jim Hoover, Pastor, and Sister Marilyn Wall, Pastoral Associate
2009 Fr. David Metz, Pastor
2016 Fr. Joseph Kieffer, Pastor